Community Resources
Online Communications and Privacy
Learn how to manage who you play with and who can interact with you in GTA Online.
December 4, 2025
Experience the dynamic universe of GTA Online tackling solo missions,
completing heists with your friends, and exploring everything San
Andreas has to offer with up to 30 different players.
Tailor your experience: Manage who can interact with you through voice
and text communications, and who can view and interact with your
Snapmatic posts.
Table of Contents
Voice Chat
How to turn Voice Chat on/off
-
Open the in-game Pause menu:
- (Playstation) Options button
- (Xbox) Menu button
- (PC) Esc key
- Go to the “Settings” tab
- Scroll and select “Voice Chat”
- Toggle “Voice Chat Enabled” to On or Off
When voice chat is turned off, you are not able to hear or speak to
other players.
How to choose who you can communicate with through Voice Chat and Phone Voice Chat
Voice Chat allows you to speak to other players in your session.
Phone Voice Chat allows you to call and speak to an individual player in
your session.
-
Open the in-game Interaction menu
- (PS5) Hold Touchpad
- (Xbox) View button
- (PC) M key
- Scroll and select “Preferences”
- Scroll and select “Voice Chat”
-
Toggle to your desired group
- Everyone - All other players in the session using voice chat
- Crew - Only Crew members in your session using voice chat
- Friends - Only friends in your session using voice chat
- Crew + Friends - Only crew members & friends in your session using voice chat
- No-One
Text Chat
How to turn Text Chat on/off (PC Only on GTA V Legacy)
Text Chat allows you to send session-wide or team-wide messages to other
players in your session.
To select whether Text Chat is visible on your screen:
-
Open the in-game Pause menu:
- (PC) Esc key
- Go to the “Settings” tab
- Scroll and select “Display”
- Scroll to “Display Text Chat” and toggle to On or Off
How to choose who you communicate with in Text Chat (PC Only on GTA V Legacy)
Press “T” on your keyboard to open Text Chat that is
visible to everyone in the session. Press Esc to
exit the text field.
Press “Y” on your keyboard to open Text Chat that is
visible to only Team members in the session. Press
Esc to exit the text field.
iFruit Messages
How to choose who you can communicate with through “Player Text Messages”
Player Text Messages, also known as “iFruit messages,” allow you to send
in-game text messages to other players in your session via your in-game
phone.
-
Open the in-game Pause menu:
- (Playstation) Options button
- (Xbox) Menu button
- (PC) Esc key
- Go to the “Online” tab
- Scroll and select “Options”
-
Scroll and select “Player Text Messages” and adjust to your desired group:
- Everyone - All other players in the session (available for PlayStation and Xbox only)
- Crew - Only Crew members in your session
- Friends - Only Friends in your session
- Friends + Crew - Only Crew members & Friends in your session
- No-One
Session Types
Who can I play with in a session?
You can choose a group you want to play with in a session by selecting a
session-type.
- Public Session: Anyone and everyone can join
- Invite Only Session: Only players with invites from someone in the session can join
- Crew Session: Only players who are a member of Crews selected by the host can join (up to 4 Crews)
- Closed Crew Session: Only Active Crew members in the session host's Crew can join
- Closed Friend Session: Only Friends of the session host can join
How to choose a session-type or move to a different session
In GTA Online:
-
Open the in-game Pause menu:
- (Playstation) Options button
- (Xbox) Menu button
- (PC) Esc key
- Go to the “Online” tab
- Scroll and select “Find New Session”
-
Select the session type you want to join:
- Public Session
- Invite Only Session
- Crew Session
- Closed Crew Session
- Closed Friend Session
In Story Mode:
-
Open the in-game Pause menu:
- (Playstation) Options button
- (Xbox) Menu button
- (PC) Esc key
- Go to the “Online” tab
- Scroll and select “Play Online”
-
Select "Go" to enter a Public Session or choose a specific session type you
want to join
- Invite Only Session
- Crew Session
- Closed Crew Session
- Closed Friend Session
How to choose what type of Quick Join Sessions you can join
You can jump directly into heists, missions, jobs, and more through your
in-game phone.
To select what type of Quick Join Session you will enter:
-
Open the in-game Pause menu:
- (Playstation) Options button
- (Xbox) Menu button
- (PC) Esc key
- Go to the “Online” tab
- Scroll and select “Options”
- Scroll and select “Filter Quick Join Content”
-
Toggle to your desired Quick Join Session type:
- Rockstar Created Only - Activities that are created by Rockstar Games
- User Created Only - Activities that are created by other GTA Online users
- Any - Activities created by either Rockstar Games or other GTA Online users
How to choose who can join Jobs that you host
Matchmaking determines the default setting for whether other players can
use Quick Join to join a Job that you are hosting.
-
Open the in-game Pause menu:
- (Playstation) Options button
- (Xbox) Menu button
- (PC) Esc key
- Go to the “Online” tab
- Scroll and select “Options”
-
Scroll to “Matchmaking” and toggle to:
- [Closed] - Only players you invite can join
- [Open] - Anyone can join
Snapmatic Uploads
How to choose who can view your Snapmatic photos
Snapmatic photos are photos that you take with your in-game phone. They
can be uploaded from your in-game gallery to the Wall on your Rockstar
Games account profile.
To choose who can view and comment on your Snapmatic uploads, visit:
https://www.rockstargames.com/account/privacy
Blocking and Muting
Mute or block players you do not want to communicate with.
Blocking a player will prevent them from being able to communicate with
you over Voice Chat, Phone Voice Chat, or invite you to a session.
Muting a player will prevent you from hearing any of their voice
communication in your current session.
Blocking
How to block a player in GTA Online
On PlayStation:
- Open the in-game Pause menu: (Options button)
- Go to the “Online” tab
- Scroll and select “Players”
- Scroll and select the player you want to block
- Scroll and select “Show Profile”
- Click the [...] and select “Block”
- In the confirmation window, select “Block”
Visit PlayStation Support – How to block players for more information.
On Xbox:
- Open the in-game Pause menu: (Menu button)
- Go to the “Online” tab
- Scroll and select “Players”
- Scroll and select the player you want to block
- Scroll and select “Show Gamercard”
- Click the [...] and select “Report or Block”
- Select “Block”
- In the confirmation window, select “Block”
Visit Xbox Support for more information.
On PC:
- Open the in-game Pause menu: (Esc button)
- Go to the “Online” tab
- Scroll and select “Players”
- Scroll and select the player you want to block
- Scroll and select “Show Profile” - Rockstar Games Overlay will appear
- Select “Player Actions”
- Scroll and select “Block”
OR
- Log in to Rockstar Games
- Use the Search tool at the top of the page to find the Rockstar Games ID of the player you wish to block
- Select the Rockstar Games ID of player you wish to block
- Select “Block” from the options below their Rockstar Games ID
- Confirm the "Block" in the resulting pop-up window
Muting
How to mute a player
-
Open the in-game Pause menu:
- (Playstation) Options button
- (Xbox) Menu button
- (PC) Esc key
- Go to the “Online” tab
- Scroll and select “Players”
- Scroll and select the player you wish to Mute
- Select “Toggle Mute”
Explore Community Resources
Learn how to manage your online experience using our Community Resources.
Need Account Assistance?
For additional assistance with managing your account or data and privacy settings, visit our Customer Support page.